With SuperRugby about to start Primary school Rugby investigated the scrum time rule and when it is deemed to be offside.

Offside lines at scrum. 20.12 (g) states that “Players who are not in the scrum and who are not the team’s scrum half, are offside if they remain in front of their offside line or overstep the offside line which is a line parallel to the goal lines and 5 metres behind the hindmost player of each team in a scrum.

What is the rugby offside rule?

Most offside decisions in rugby union happen at rucks and mauls, especially when the ball is being recycled a lot. Like the scrum, an imaginary line is drawn through the hindmost foot of the last player in the ruck or maul. Players must either join the ruck or maul or retreat behind the offside line

When can you tackle the scrum half?

When a scrum half attempts to retrieve the ball from a ruck, the ball is not out until that player has picked the ball up from the ground. In the clip the scrum half is taken out by the player before the ball is off the ground and this would be deemed to be offside by the player tackling the scrum half.

For scrum-halves, the offside line is the line of the ball fed into the scrum. So that means they can’t go past that line until the ball has been put into the scrum by the opposing number nine. … The opposing scrum-half has to wait until the ball is fully out of the scrum before making a tackle for the ball.

Understanding the Offside Rule – The offside line is the line of the ball when it has been fed into the scrum.

Defending Scrum offside

Reds play Blues. Reds Scrum. Defending Scrum half from Blues stands besides Red SH in usual position. After the feed it goes around and stands 5M in front of his number 10 in line with the hindmost foot of the number 8. Is he offside?

Law 20.12(e)
The scrum half whose team does not win possession of the ball must not move away from the scrum and then remain in front of the offside line. For that scrum half that runs through the hindmost foot of that player’s team in the scrum.
Sanction: Penalty kick

Yes is because he moved away from the scrum
No he is not because he moved away but stayed on the number 8’s line so was not in front of his offside line.

The Answer? Is No.